Skip to content

If you only had a few days to live….

April 8, 2009

If you only had a few more days left on this earth what are 3 things that you would leave behind for your children or loved ones? I guess you would want to leave behind something really valuable….something that would change their lives forever….something they would use everyday to improve not only their own lives but the lives of others….and something that you can’t put a price tag on. If I only had  3 things that I could teach my brothers that has helped change my life forever it would be:

1. Goal setting: Your mind is target oriented and if you don’t have a target they how would you ever know that you hit it? Goal setting is one of my favorite things to do because it gets me fired up and it helps me achieve more then I think that I can. All successful people do this, and write down review their goals daily.  I can’t tell you how much this has impacted and improved my life and my successes.  Just remember, set SMART goals: Specific Measurable Attainable Realistic and set a Time-line.

2. Affirmations- An Affirmation is a statement that describes a goal in its already completed state, such as ” I am celebrating feeling healthy and light at my perfect body weight of 135.” I always say them with an attitude of expectancy, in the present tense, and with dynamic emotions. I love to say my affirmations in the morning too. It helps me set a positive tone for the day and put positive energy into the universe.   These have changed my life so much and have taught me that everyday I have a choice of who I want to show up as for the day.  “I am high energy, and I choose to show up big.”  “Everyday, in every way I’m getting better and better.”  Create a few for yourself and start to say them out loud.  It may feel silly at first, but trust me this has been one of the most important things that I’ve ever done to become the person that I want to be everyday.

3. Visualizations– Visualizations are like a preview to life’s coming attractions.  It describes in detail what your destination looks like and feels like in all areas of your life. Find a quiet area, close your eyes and visualize what you want your life to look like in 5, 10, maybe 20 years from now.  Describe what is looks like, what do the details look like, what are some of the smells, sights, emotions you feel.  The more specific the better and more real your vision becomes.  A great exercise too is to find a bunch of magazines and cut out some of the things that you want to be, have, or do and paste them on a vision board.  This is so fun too, and you might just surprise yourself when you start to manifest some of your visions.

These are the 3 things that I would leave behind for my loved ones that I think would help them more than anything in their journey to becoming the most successful, healthy, happy, loving, purposeful people that they can be.  What are 3 things that you would leave behind? Post them in the comment box below!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 12:23 am

    Nice work, Dr. Ryan.

    I had to get out my journal and give myself this assignment for tomorrow morning…before the surf. I’ll get back to you. Thanks for this.

    By the way, you’re big for 135.

    In Health from within and in Him, Doc

  2. drhewitt permalink*
    April 17, 2009 7:56 pm

    Thanks doc…wish I was out there with ya. I’m going to need some vitamin Sea myself pretty soon!

  3. Kendra permalink
    April 21, 2009 3:23 pm

    I don’t think you weigh 135 either, but I do think you are right on with this entry.

    K

  4. July 29, 2009 12:00 pm

    Great post! I really need to get back to all of these! I do so well for a few months and then I crack!

    Love all I have read so far, the burger…omg! The HFCS, did not watch the lil vid yet but I read wat u wrote, there r so many things with it in it, it seems like hard work to do better! I think about all u have shared with me food wise and I feel stuck, I know wat u say makes sense, but I get overwhelmed to easy!

    Love this post, I have had a peg board for 3years now that I have yet to start, got it after watching the secret, after the secret was doing the affirmations and goal settings but then life gets in my way and weighs down my brain. 😉

    Anyhoot, loved wat I have read so far! Thanks for all your work and helping me to get to my optimam health….it is a journey and I am on it! See you next Tues! Had to reschedule yesterday for today.

    Have a fanttttabulous day!
    Kimberly

Leave a Reply

